“tonight is your answer”, Obama said.

It was a great speech by the new elected American president, Barack Obama. Obama was the choice of the Americans who wanted change and minorities as well; African Americans, Hispanics, the youth, and many others. I am not an Obama supporter (nor of course McCain’s supporter) but I am proud of the Americans decision to choose an African American and the son of an immigrant to lead them. It reveals a lot about this nation who believe in change. They hoped and they got what they hoped for.

I leave you now with one of the best opening speeches:

“If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.” Obama said.

4 thoughts on ““tonight is your answer”, Obama said.

  1. I and my friends were talking about the issue of granting nationality by birth. Most of the Arab countries, except Tunisia, don’t grant their nationalities to new born babies. I was born in Kuwait and lived there all my youth but I have no right what so ever there. Why should I feel anything for that country. Islam is about “just” and we don’t see it in the Muslim world, shame.

  2. yes, three of my siblings were granted citizenship upon being born in the states. Even though two of them are with my family back home, they have the right to keep their American citizenship… and if/when they ever come here to peruse a degree, or build-up a career over, there will be no obstacles, inshalla.

    I do understand the unjust you are pointing out regarding not granting new born babies nationality in Arab countries, even when it is the place of birth. An issue that yet saddens and even angers me beyond measure is that, take Jordan for example, if a Jordanian woman decides to marry a man who doesn’t carry the Jordanian citizenship, her kids are never granted it. Now, how unjust is that???

Comments are closed.