25 minutes + 45 minutes = Timeless Agony

This is how much time it takes to do laundry here in the US. It takes the washing machine 25 minutes to clean each load and then 45 minutes for the dryer to complete the task. I hate doing laundry so much I do it once a month or until the last surviving clean underwear. I sometimes buy new boxers just to buy extra couple of days without having to do my laundry.

One good thing for not having a washer and dryer in the apartment (not that I can if I want to) is that using the complex’s laundry room allows me to use four to five washers at the same time. Otherwise, using a single machine will waste the whole day for me.

Nevertheless, the agony I am referring to is not the time it takes to do laundry or the time I spend searching every pocket and corner of the apartment and my car for quarters, rather it is the time it takes to fold the clothes. Between hanging, folding and organizing it is a task that I really hate. Not to mention the dilemma of trying to match pair of socks among the huge pile of clothes, and of course the usual mystery of ending with an odd socks. It is a problem so common they have a scientific name for it called combinatorics or the math of arrangement. Makes you wonder when someone genius will invent disposable clothes to solve all humankind problems.

note to self: start collecting quarters for the next laundry day.

11 thoughts on “25 minutes + 45 minutes = Timeless Agony

  1. Haitham, I am stating some horrible facts about life. Welcome to the graduate life and good luck with your masters!

  2. It seems u r facing a hard time
    I find cleaning the dishes every 3 hours more horrible

    I have a solution for you … (Marry)–> but it is critical step, u may start doing that for both of u lol 😀

    Happy Laundry

  3. Over at my place it’s even worse. I have to clean the kitchen every time I do laundry because the washer’s hose leaks into the kitchen. Then the house does not have a dryer…that means I have to hang it up and wait for a day…Times in university at Penang were the best. 5kg load sent to the laundromat costs 1.50 USD – washed, dried & folded.

  4. Jason, I guess nothing beats that “5kg load sent to the laundromat costs 1.50 USD – washed, dried & folded.”

  5. how come it takes your washer only 25 mins to finish a load of clothes??? It takes the ones we have at our apt complex 50 mins to complete a load and 55 for drying! Since i’m usually impatient, I set a load in the washer before leaving to school, then i come back and put it in the dryer… I know it’s not always safe to leave clothes in the washer for a long time, but i just can’t stand waiting on laundry.

    And yes, you’re right about the odd sock mystery… I think there are sock gnomes in dryers… hmmmm ;D

  6. secratea,
    I am waiting to read about your Jordan trip posts. Hopefully, your posts include pictures of Knafeh and Shawerma.
    My complex installed new washers and dryers so I guess that is why they are faster. About the missing sock syndrome I would like to quote Seinfeld here “Socks are the most amazing article of clothing. They hate their lives; they’re in the shoes with stinky feet, the boring drawers. The dryer is their only chance to escape an’ they all know it. They do escape from the dryer–they plan it in the hamper, the night before. “Tomorrow. The Dryer. I’m goin’.”

Leave a Reply

