Aliens in District 9

This South African movie, District 9, is not your typical science fiction aliens movie, it is about human behavior towards the others, about racism and coexistence. “The title of the movie is a reference to District Six, a former inner-city residential area in Cape Town, South Africa. The district was declared a “whites only” area by the apartheid government in 1966, and the population of 60,000 forcibly relocated to Cape Flats, 25 kilometers away.” [Wikipedia] DISTRICT 9 depicts a fictional world where extraterrestrials have become refugees in South Africa.

The movie is ranked 29 in imdb.com top 250 movies list. This movie worth your money. The directing of the movie is especial good. Overall this movie rocks! Watch District 9 trailer

5 thoughts on “Aliens in District 9

  1. I went to go see time traveler’s wife but it was sold out so we opted for District 9, but I loved it! I cried during a couple of parts and I dont cry too easily with movies.

  2. The alien species was a representation of underrepresented and oppressed minority groups throughout history. I took it as a story a lot more than just about south african apartheid history.

  3. I did love this film but I thought that maybe it was a little preachy!! I get the point and everything but I just thought it was a bit heavy handed!! Check out my review at blubbalips.wordpress.com!!

Leave a Reply

