My first roadkill

Today morning while driving to to the coffee shop I ran over a bird. I was driving at 50 mph (80 km) when I saw two birds on the road, I thought they will fly away as they always do. Unfortunately, one of them didn’t make it since I heard something hit my car. When I looked at my rear view mirror I saw one of the birds struggling to fly. Seeing the bird struggling for his life was a painful scene. Although, I think he died shortly after the accident either by his injuries or by the next car behind me. I hope birdy didn’t suffer for too long though.

Here is an excerpt from Seinfeld related to this incident:

JERRY: You ran over some pigeons? How many?

GEORGE: What ever they had. Miranda thinks I’m a butcher but it’s not my fault is it? Don’t we have a deal with the pigeons?

JERRY: Of course. We have a deal. They get out of the way of our cars, we look the other way on the statue defecation.

GEORGE: Right! And these pigeons broke the deal. I will not accept the blame for this.

6 thoughts on “My first roadkill

    1. Actually in the US squirrels have higher chance to be killed on the road than cats. And one of the more dangerous ones are deers, very common here in my area.

  1. Och that is painful, I see all the times on the road animals get crushed by cars and I feel sorry for them, Not sure if it is our fault of theirs 🙂

    1. One can say it is the animals fault because they should not cross the roads dedicated only to vehicles. On the other hand, humans invaded their territory, they were their first. Most of these roads, where you see many roadkills, are cut through forests. Anyway, I was driving within the speed limit and the bird should have flied away.

Leave a Reply

