Taylor Mali – "What Teachers Make"

Beautiful poem and powerful performance by Taylor Mali answering the question “What teachers make?”

 

 

 

He says the problem with teachers is, "What’s a kid going to learn
from someone who decided his best option in life was to become a teacher?"
He reminds the other dinner guests that it’s true what they say about
teachers:

Those who can, do; those who can’t, teach.

You want to know what I make?

I make kids wonder,
I make them question.
I make them criticize.
I make them apologize and mean it.
I make them write, write, write.
And then I make them read.
I make them spell definitely beautiful, definitely beautiful, definitely
beautiful
over and over and over again until they will never misspell
either one of those words again.

Let me break it down for you, so you know what I say is true:
I make a goddamn difference! What about you?

6 thoughts on “Taylor Mali – "What Teachers Make"

  1. I was a teacher for 4 months and I didn’t like it at all 😦
    It was not my field ,I can not work in something I know I do not have the necessary talent needed, there must be some talents and specifications in the personal to became a GOOD teacher.

    I also feel that good teachers have some thing like a gift from God,al7amdolellah I don’t have it 🙂

  2. Haitham,
    I didn’t know you are in teaching business. Good to know. Glad you liked the video.

    Whisper,
    Four months only 🙂 I think good teachers have something in common and it is being patient. Teachers should be patient otherwise they will lose it and be very bad at teaching. I like teaching; I have been doing it for a long time. Every four months new faces, new people 🙂

    Ahmad,
    You are very right it is a weary job. That is why you see some bad teachers. It is not enough that a teacher knows the material how to deliver this material is very important. And more important is how patient a teacher can be while delivering the information in different ways because we don’t receive the information the same way.
    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. This man was inspired by Albert Einstein, I’d say!
    He said: “It is the supreme art of the teacher to awaken joy in creative expression and knowledge.”

    And he added: “It is a miracle that curiosity survives formal education.” That’s what teacher must work on!

    Knowing the fact that he was disappointed by his teachers!
    “The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.”

    1. No doubt teaching is an art and our formal education needs to be changed in many ways. There are many educators who are actually demanding for this change.
      “The only thing that interferes with my learning is my education.” I never read this before but Ouch! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

