Jew settler celebrates Purim*

I took a picture of a poster that is displayed in our Journalism School hall. I don’t want to say much about this picture. Why should I it will never help this poor woman. Just imagine this woman is your mother or sister who is been harassed on street in such a derogatory way.

image
image

Below is the original picture from The New York Times.

image

Rina Castelnuovo for The New York Times

The picture was taken on Shuhada Street in Hebron. As Ms. Castelnuovo recalled it:

The streets were mostly empty. I stopped to photograph some settlers marking the Jewish holiday of Purim. They were passing around a bottle of wine, toasting the holiday, nothing out of the ordinary. I noticed a Palestinian woman walking along the shut-down stores. A group of settlers were walking in the middle of the street in the opposite direction when one of them took a step towards her. I instinctually raised the camera.

She didn’t scream or stop, she hurried up the street and vanished around the corner. I was left angered and saddened — as if the wine hit me.

*Purim is a Jewish festival that commemorates a time when the Jewish people living in Persia were saved from extermination.

9 thoughts on “Jew settler celebrates Purim*

    1. Yes, it is very sad. And it is even sadder that we can do nothing about this 60 year long aggression.

  1. Why I have not heard about this before?
    This piece of news should be spread out every where so people who have sympathy towards Jews will see the truth about their discrimination against Palestinians!

    الله يكون في عون أهل فلسطين

    Thanks for sharing.

    1. Amen!
      Unfortunately, the Arab media is sometimes very selective on what to publish. My theory, and I might be wrong, is that the Arabic media don’t publish a picture took by a Jewish photographer even if the picture is very intriguing such as this one.

      1. That’s so sad! if not pathetic!
        The picture is actually dated back in March 2009 at time I was still in UK and yet I have not heard of such an incident. (or I was sleeping at that time)

        Western media would not publish such an “anti-semitic” picture, nor Arab media is helping regarding this matter although they, Arab media, have to use every tiny source, even Israeli, to be on their side!

  2. Ya haram, I have no idea or understanding how someone is able to do that to another indivdual. How can you have so much hate and ill regard? What happened to respect and caring for everyone and everyone? This is completely and utterly sickening, how can you look in the mirror after doing such an attrocity? I just don’t understand how?

Comments are closed.