International humanitarian act at a traffic light

Today, at 12 pm in a 100+ F (40 C) while I was stopping at a red light my Honda made her mind not to move any more. It was lunch hour and the intersection was very busy. I was in the middle lane so tens of cars passed to my right and left. Nevertheless, not a single horn was heard.

I want to share with you some details of what happened today:

  1. I, a Jordanian, had a problem with my car at the traffic light.
  2. After couple of minutes of being in the middle of the street an American woman stopped her car beside mine and asked if I needed help. I thanked her and told her that I already called for help (i.e., friend #4).
  3. After 10 minutes or may be less an American man stopped his van behind my car and told me that he will help me push the car to the nearest safe place. We waited till the light was green then pushed the car to the other side where there is a parking lot. It seems he was a farmer because when he offered to help he said “That is why I hate living in the city. No one will stop for help here.” But he did and I am very grateful. He is my American hero.
  4. An Egyptian friend came to give me a ride back home.
  5. A Tunisian came to take my car’s key since he knows someone who can tow my car for free.
  6. An Algerian mechanic is going to fix my car. It is really a great thing if you know a mechanic who you can trust and fix your car for a cheaper price.

People, in general, are so nice if only we can communicate better. One of my most lovable verses from the Quran is the one when Allah says “…and made you into nations and tribes, that ye may know each other.” [Al-Hujurat, verse 13]. How we treat others should be a priority which is, unfortunately, not.  Only by knowing people we can understand why they do what they do.

14 thoughts on “International humanitarian act at a traffic light

  1. Really what a lovely entry 🙂
    A story of the true essences of life,,,
    A humane “communication” 🙂

    Thx a lot 4 sharing.

    H.

    1. Thanks, Haitham!
      The US reminds me of Kuwait (and maybe the same in Saudi Arabia) where you see people from all over the world. Learning about different cultures is what I like most.

  2. First of all el7amdellah 3ala salamtak w salamet ur car 😀

    lucky u…I wrote once about when my car stoped in the middle of the street last winter and nearly all the drivers horn at me and some said things I didn’t understand, I wrote about a special driver shouted on my face ” sho bt3mely” what r u doing, as if I choose to stop there :S

    Some people don’t give u the chance to communicate with them, or give them selves a chance to know u better

    Sorry,this is suppose to be a nice story I know but I may sound negative in my comment…I’m not, I just give examples 😀

    1. Allah Yesalmek!
      Yes, I remember reading about your story. You have no idea how civilized people were here; as I mentioned cars just passed smoothly but slowly from my right and left. Not a single car honked. I am reading a book called “Traffic – why we drive the way we do” they found that male and female drivers honk more when they know the driver in front of them is a woman. But really before giving driving license to people in Jordan they should first pass an ethics in driving exam.

  3. Real Life experience and American hero, diversification nice…, it it also time to switch to a greener way of commuting a bicycle will be a good Idea the worst that could happen is a flat tire..:)

  4. For the past two months I almost biked daily to school. But my definition of being green and being more reasonable and safe is to buy an electric car not to ride a bicycle beside the SUVs and big trucks 🙂

  5. good evening jaraad:

    Regardless of the awful situation it ended nicely I guess!
    Unfortunately we were programed to love or hate a person according to certain rules imposed by culture or media, though all religions urge people to love and well treat each other.
    I wrote 2 months ago a post titled (black..white) and I ended it saying ” before you judge, and before you decide to love or hate a person, ask yourself: have you met the person? ”
    I really really believe in that…
    have a nice day

    1. Yes, one of the biggest mistakes we made about others is we judge before having any encounter with them. We judge others simply just because they are not one of us. I read your post when you wrote it and it was very well said.

  6. I read the line “Nevertheless, not a single horn was heard” 5 times trying to find anything that would indicate sarcasm but couldn’t find any .. I’m still in shock !! >,<

Leave a Reply

