Will Americans like Jordanian Restaurants?

CNN today asked its reader “What other patrons’ behavior would most likely to spoil your restaurant meal?”. More than 40% of the 15,000 participants agreed that the most annoying behavior in a restaurant is “Out of control children.”  See most recent result here.

With the above in mind I don’t think American tourists would enjoy eating Mansaf or Shish Kabob at Jordanian Restaurants. I have read many American and European bloggers living in Jordan discussing the issue of “out of control children”. Jordanian families are used to doing everything together; they eat, shop, entertain, go out, visit friends, and go to doctor together. The idea of babysitter is FOREIGN in our culture.

During holidays and Eids my grandparents house used to be more crowded and noisier than six flags amusement park. Indeed in Jordan children are out of control but there is a reason behind that. It could be the lack of playgrounds, or the parents’ unintentional moment of pride. Or maybe it is more complicated than that but we will leave it to the experts. It is just a culture thing.

Here is the CNN poll but check this link for the most recent result. What is your most annoying behavior at restaurants? Mine would be “loud cell phone conversation”  which comes second in this poll. image

image

p.s. This post is for humor only and not intended to damage Jordan’s tourism sector. Our children are loud and out of control but we are friendly and known for our hospitality. So, please come visit Jordan and spend some money :) .

image

10 thoughts on “Will Americans like Jordanian Restaurants?

  1. Interesting. When I am in Arab restaurants here, it is like a true Italian restaurant-the whole family, and if you don’t like kids running around don’t go. In Morocco it goes without saying.

    I have more trouble here with adult restaurants, and the parents constantly correcting their children. Usually the children are less annoying than the parents–especially the mother.

    The worst of all for me is any loud intense conversation. Often they hit topics that turn on my psychotherapist reflex, and I don’t want to be “working” by thinking about what I hear, and working hard not to hear it. Absolute worst is one coffee shop where people go after their AA meeting-painful loud conversations that are social work, addictions counsellor cases. I have to sit near the Iraqi refugees to get some peace!😀

    1. The loudest conversation I got to hear was at a coffee shop. A group of teenagers sit next to my table and they were extremely loud. I can take any out of control child over loud teenager🙂

  2. Well, I’m American and like Jordanian restaurants. Having said that, loud out of control kids are an issue. But then again, I’m rude enough to correct them if they encroach on our dining experience😉. I’ve had small kids come up and try and push their way into our seating before, yikes! However, one of the biggest issues with out of control kids is that they are out in public way too late on school nights. As a result, nearly every child in Jordan is sleep deprived. You should absolutely expect poor behavior when kids are up too late, eating too much sugar, and then are sleep deprived on top ;(. My personal thought is… poor kids. Oh, and yummy food. That said, it is hard to raise my kids with a set of rules they know don’t apply to their friends. We have to frequently go over the “I understand your friends have a Facebook page at age 6, but it isn’t allowed in our house” conversation. Just change the thing in quotation marks… Interesting post.

  3. I agree with you that kids in Jordan sleep late at night. As far as I remember I don’t know any parents (from my relatives and friends of family) who have bedtime rule or routine for their children. Children go to bed when they feel sleepy only.
    I read your post about some Jordanian kids of age 6 having facebook account. Why kids of this age need facebook for?
    Once, in an airplane the pilot announced that passengers need to fasten their seat belts because we were landing. In front of me there was an Arab couple with their two children. Both kids were standing on the seats facing behind. Of course they did that all the trip. As usual the flight attendants double check that everyone is buckled up. A Korean flight attendant saw this scene and she did what I wanted to do in the past 7 hours of the trip. She scold the parents and very loud. She said “how come you buckled up and your kids are on the seats. Do you know how dangers this is,… You need to fasten their seat built NOW.” The parents felt very ashamed. I had the biggest smile on my face.

  4. Ongster,
    Please postpone your trip to Jordan until I am back. Accommodation and food are free. How about this as incentive to make you wait🙂 I would love to see you again and tour Jordan’s desert.

  5. One thing that I love about Jordan is that family is important. And I love! love! the food at Jordanian restaurants! But parents need to remember that kids get bored fast, they are not going to sit and listen while the grown ups chat. Why don’t parents ever bring things for their kids to do? My baby is only 6 months and I always have a rattle, book and teddy bear for her to play with. In North America, lots of restaurants put paper on the tables with crayons so kids can colour. I don’t like tripping over kids who are running wild, especially when I am carrying my baby.

  6. I like tables with crayons I think it is very smart idea. I have seen it in some restaurants here in the US.
    You are right about the possibility of tripping over kids, I didn’t think of that. After you mentioned that, the scary and dangerous thing is what if a waiter holding hot dishes tripped because of a kid playing around. Can you imagine how dangerous this would be. Thanks for your comment.

  7. Agreed. I will try to look for a job and save money to go for a trip to Jordan. Free food and free accommodation sounds nice. Hope you’ll be finishing your studies soon.

Comments are closed.