The Life is Good Award

So, I have been tagged by the always funny Rand, who is well known among the Jordanian bloggers with her delightful but sometimes shocking lists, with the “Life is Good Award.” I always avoided tags for no reasonable reason. But since this tag is getting a lot of attention and almost every Jordanian blogger is being involved it becomes inevitable to answer it. But I also have another reason for answering this tag; it is because after four years of blogging anonymously I decided to blog with my real name. So this is the new me.

1. If you blog anonymously, are you happy doing this? If you aren’t anonymous, do you wish you started out anonymously, so that you could be anonymous now?

I have been blogging anonymously since I started this blog in 2007. I wanted to be anonymous so I could express myself openly and write freely. I am a graduate student and also a teaching assistant and so I didn’t want my students, lab mates and professors to read my blog.  Except for couple of friends, none of my family or relatives or friends in Jordan and the US knows about my blog.

But, couple of days ago I decided to write my real name in the “About” page and write my real name in my twitter account. This post is actually the first one after revealing my identity. I still don’t know how it will be but I hope I don’t regret it.

 

2. Describe an incident that shows your inner stubborn side.

I could hit rock bottom and no one around me sense it. Living alone for many years one learns to be really stubborn.

 

3. What do you see when you really look at yourself in the mirror?

I see nothing but a handsome gentleman. Joke aside, I see a man with potentials, I believe in myself.

 

4. What is your favourite summer cold drink?

Water is my favorite drink during all seasons. I drink water a lot during the day because I enjoy it. My other drink that I enjoy during the summer is Frozen Mocha (Velvety chocolate & icy espresso, topped with whipped cream & chocolate syrup), a whopping 570 calories.

 

5. When you take time for yourself, what do you do?

One of the following: 1) Cruising in my car through the beautiful greenery scenes of Missouri while listening to my iPod. 2) Reading non-fiction books. 3) Writing. I have close to 70 draft posts waiting to be finished and published. 4) Watching independent or European movies. Thank you, Netflix.

 

6. Is there something that you still want to accomplish in your life?

Still? This question seems to be targeting people over 65. Since first thing first, defending my PhD dissertation would be my priority now. I have many dreams but one that I hope I can accomplish one day is to generate my own money. That is not slaving for someone waiting him to give me my salary at the end of the month. 

 

7. When you attended school, were you the class clown, the class overachiever, the shy person, or always ditching?

In my elementary and middle school I studied in private schools, I was the shy person and things went smoothly. I had no complains during that period of school. But things changed drastically in secondary (high) school when I moved to a public school in Irbid. You simply can’t survive there being shy. When you see your friends jump over the school’s wall during the mid-day break to eat at Yaseen El Fawwal (Irbid’s version of Amman’s Hashem restaurant) you have to do what they do or else you should fear the consequences.

8. If you close your eyes and want to visualize a very poignant moment in your life, what would you see?

I see bad decisions crumpled on top of each other but I open my eyes and start thinking of a new “bad” decision that I am eager to take.

 

9. Is it easy for you to share your true self in your blog, or are you more comfortable writing posts about other people and events?

No, it is not easy for me to share my feelings not even to my close friends. I hardly talk about my problems with others.

 

10. If you had the choice to sit down and read a book or talk on the phone, which would you do and why?

I hate speaking on the phone. I don’t like it when I don’t see the person I am talking to. That is why I never chatted on line. If I have to choose between reading a book or chatting on the phone I would choose reading. But if the question is to choose between sitting with a friend or reading a book I will of course rather having a good conversation with a friend in this case.

 

Done. My first time to answer a tag Smile

 

I think most of the bloggers I know had been tagged but to keep the stream running I think Naddoush and Social-double-standard still not. So how about you two go ahead and tell us more about yourselves Smile

14 thoughts on “The Life is Good Award

  1. Interesting Jarad :), interesting.
    Thanks for telling us about you a little more 🙂
    Blogging anonymously makes sense in such cases, I agree.

    H.

  2. Yaseenco! 😀
    Congratulations on your new found online identity by the way. I don’t think you’ll regret it, you never get too personal and you never offend people so you’re safe! 😀

  3. Rand, I hope I will not regret it. Glad to hear I offend no one. Thanks for the tag by the way.

    Whisper, Thanks! I found it tasking though because i wasn’t sure how much to share and not share.

  4. Congrats on being less anonymous! I totally checked out your About section too!

    I like what you said about living alone…I understand that because I have lived alone for so long that it just becomes a part of who you are. You just get used to things a certain way and the stubbornness sets in. It did for me, at least.

    Ah, Netflix…Seriously, awesome.

  5. first of all nice to meet you Malik 🙂

    nice post and shows good characteristic too, like that you beleive in yourself and having many dreams to accomplish.
    loved that part ‘can’t survive being shy in jordan public schools!’ sooo true 🙂
    Yaseen El Fawwal ( aklna min 3endo kteeer )

    thnx for the tag I’ll do it as soon as I can,
    take care

    1. I think Yaseen El Fawwal and Ahmad El Falafel are the milestones of Irbid. At least that is what I remember of Irbid.
      Glad you will answer the tag. Will be waiting to read it.

  6. cool, i did find it v interresting, as i am expert to write about myself, my mistakes, my in out , my memories, my wish list , my dreams, nightmares, my feelings, ay anger, my thoughts , the music i prefers, the movies i watch ,
    i am a human tag ,
    i rarely talk or write annonymously, but i finaly did, not coz i am shy , at all, but looking 4 mystry
    if u dont belive it, just have a look on my last blog
    back2evans or
    3ayza akhess
    wanna b slim
    hope u like it as much as i like ur post

    Model

    1. Model, welcome to my blog and thanks for your comment. I like your blog name “3ayza akhess” 🙂 I will definitely check your site.

Leave a Reply

