History is beautiful

I like the kind of museums  that display  cultures. How people from certain region at certain era used to live is my favorite part. I like to see what they used to wear, what tool they used, etc. Yesterday, I went to the Museum of Art and Archaeology in our university. I am glad I went there. It was very inspiring. Here are some pictures:

 

[click on the picture to enlarge]

DSC01554DSC01556

Beautiful face from Syria

DSC01562DSC01563

The earrings and the necklace are so beautiful they can still be in fashion today

(article 41 is a hair pin)

DSC01566DSC01570

So, it seems people since long, long time ago used beautiful cylinder shaped boxes to store toilet articles.

DSC01571DSC01573

I think Arabic women are very familiar with this one (i.e., Kohl)

DSC01575

Once there was a land called Palestine

7 thoughts on “History is beautiful

  1. A beautiful post! I always enjoy seeing the continuity over time and cultures of human endeavours, including those destined to beautify everyday objects, or create works of art.

    I have a kohl container that is very similar, though made of wood!

    It is wonderful to have proofs of Palestine–past, present, and future. That is one of the reasons I appreciate so greatly the website Palestine Remembered.

    Thanks for sharing this!

  2. It sure is, and it’s beautiful to see people taking interest in learning more about the creativity and creations of past civilizations, the more you get into this, the more astonished you will be, so don’t stop there 😀

    I study cultural resources management, it makes me smile to see people appreciating historical properties everywhere, I vowed to try my best and raise awareness and encourage people to appreciate the Archaeological treasures they have with any possible way I can afford, because it’s extremely needed.

    Enjoy your journey through history, and have a nice day 🙂

    1. You are right learning about past civilizations and discovering their arts and cultures is always nourishing.
      Cultural resources management sounds an interesting subject. At least I don’t think it is boring 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog. I checked your blog and I liked it especially after I knew that you like Adele.

Leave a Reply

