What is FemEo?

A female Indian friend once asked me why women in my country work only as teachers. My reply was no they work in other sectors as well. I knew from her that she heard that from a Jordanian friend. But after some little thinking it turned out he is not entirely wrong. He is from Kerak and as you may know both Irbid and Kerak lack the urban development Amman is experiencing. Although both cities have universities, and in case of Irbid I think there are four universities, most of their graduates have to go to Amman to find jobs.

I remember back in the early 90s when I was doing my Bachelor in Computer Science almost half of the students were females. Later, I taught Computer Science at two public universities in Jordan and in both universities the number of female students in my classes was always 50% or more than the male students. 

So, what is the problem you may ask. The problem is that although the number of female graduates is more than the male graduates “female labor force participation rates in MENA are among the lowest in the world” [source].  Here in the US, there are at most 20% female students in my classes and the number may go to zero in some engineering classes. A number I know from experience that is much lower than Engineering Schools in Jordan. So, although women in MENA countries may get to the education level that enables them to get jobs many may not get the opportunity to work for many cultural and social reasons.

imageimage

 

Recently, I was informed of a project called FemEo [En, Ar], a community aiming to assist working women in the Middle East. They offer daily tips and advice, a networking section, and Career Assessments. I like the idea of this project because I believe the best career help a working woman can get is from other working women. As far as I know I think this is the first online project in the Middle East that is dedicated to working women. Such project is more beneficial when there are more people contributing to it. More participants mean more questions, articles, advices and of course more knowledgeable of their rights working women. I also see a great advantage of this site for new female graduates to learn and get assistance about their new life style as working women.

This is a social network site that I think would be of great advantage and interest to women.

13 thoughts on “What is FemEo?

  1. جميل جدا الموقع و فيه مقالات شكلها مفيده ولكن للاسف ما قدرت اقرأ ها كامله لاني ومع اني اشتركت فيه عن طريق حسابي على موقع بيت و لكن بضل يظهر رسالة باني لازم اكون من المسؤولين لاقرأ المقال !!!!
    بجرب بعدين ان شاء الله

    شكرا جزيلا على مشاركتنا الموقع

    1. للأسف ما بعرف شو ممكن تكون المشكله. بكون جيد لو احد القائمين على الموقع يقرأ تعليقك ويجاوبك على استفسارك.ـ
      فكرة الموقع عجبتني وان شاء الله تكون مفيده للنساء العاملات

  2. Well, indeed we have such problems which leads me to mention a little story:
    “I was in my married friend house 2 days ago when she suddenly advised me to get a job in governmental sector so as to go home early. The main reason was in her opinion that ‘Men of Irbed’ prefer such jobs, so If u r interested in getting married, u should do that!”.

    The ironic part is that this special girl used to fly all the way when she was in her work and single and even after marriage and she was insisting, I told her so and she replied her case was special!.

    Maybe bcoz her husband is Ammani?!

    1. This subject is too broad and I think it deserves a special post about it. There are many different reasons why men not just from Irbid but other areas in Jordan as well prefer their wives to wok in the public sector like in the schools or the municipal. The reasons range from preferring the wife to work in only-women place (like schools) or finish work early 2pm instead of 5 pm or job security etc.
      Thanks for sharing this story. It is an interesting subject.

  3. موقع طيب

    شكرا ً يا مالك

    النصائح عملية و مباشرة

    أعجبتني و الله

  4. well, it depends!
    in some communities yes, women is headed to a teacher career only, but as far as I know people have changed a lot in that matter, and women now studing whatever, my kid sister for instance is an electrical engineer but 25 years my father prevented one of my eldest sisters to go to an engineering school, so its not a matter of what is your major? it’s whether your gonna find a job or not?
    ALL good job opportunities lays in Amman, and other cities? zero. no private firms, and thats basically why I’m working for the government, and I just can’t leave my city like alot of well qualified people living the same situation! and I gess giving people advices about how to succes in their career is worthless when you can’t find one!

    1. You are right people are changing. Girls in Jordan are doing all majors. As I mentioned I found it strange that the percentage of female students in the Engineering Schools in Jordan is higher than here in the US. Regarding the issue of lack of jobs in Irbid it is just a sad reality and things need to be changed.

  5. Thank you guys for your comments, and thank you Malik for writing this article.

    We will be happy to hear any of your thoughts and ideas about women in the workplace, and you can contribute by sending an email to editor@femeo.me.

    Thanks!🙂

  6. همساتي : شكرا لاهتمامك🙂 لقد تأكدنا من عدم وجود مشكلية تقنية، ارجو منك اعادة الدخول مستخدما متصفح اخر، ان عادت المشكلة بالظهور ارجو منك ارسال رسالة على
    editor@femeo.me.

  7. @Aya

    شكرا لاهتمامك
    المشكله اللي واجهتها تكررت على اكثر من متصفح و هي بتظهر فقط لمّا احاول اقرأ المقالات باللغه العربيه , النسخه الانجليزيه ما بتظهر المشكله
    هلأ ببعت رسالة للعنوان اللي كتبتيه بتفصيل اكبر

    شكرا مرّه تانيه على الاهتمام و شكرا الكم و لمجهودكم في الموقع🙂

  8. I’m slightly behind the times. Thanks for the excellent article. While I visited Femeo some time ago, I’m going to have to bookmark it. It is doing important things, for sure!

    1. Thank you!
      Yes, the site looks promising. I hope it becomes a helpful service to working women in the Middle East.

Comments are closed.