I am a proud something

Jordan belongs to all Jordanians. Loyalty is only measured by one’s achievements and service to the country. The diversity in roots and heritage enriches our Jordanian national identity, which respects the rights of the citizenry, in a spirit of unity, tolerance and moderation, and opens the gates of diversity.

Speech from the Throne By His Majesty King Abdullah II
Opening the Second Ordinary Session of the 16th Parliament
Amman, Jordan
26 October 2011

Recently, it seems there is a lot of emphasis about where certain group of people is from. I have seen it a lot on Twitter and Facebook; “I am a proud Jordanian.” I personally don’t understand the reason behind using such slogan to write on one’s profile in social network sites. Unless, one is shoving it on the face of his enemy during a war I see no reason to define oneself as a “proud Jordanian.” For those of us, Jordanians, who were born during the past 50 years being Jordanian is nothing we achieved or worked hard to become. When a new baby is born to a Jordanian father, the baby automatically gets a Jordanian citizenship. I sacrificed nothing to become a Jordanian other than the fact that my father is a Jordanian who also did nothing to become a Jordanian other than that his father was a Jordanian too.

It is normal for parents to brag about their children, “my kid is an honor student” or “I am proud of my kid he or she did this or that.” Parents feel they did something right so they like to celebrate their children achievements. But can one be proud of something he has no hand what so ever in achieving? Can I, for example, feel proud of Honda industry because I own one? Or do you think it is normal for one to say “I am a proud white?” It sounds racists, doesn’t it?

I might be mistaken but I feel the “I am a proud Jordanian” slogan implies something not very positive against others. Slogans and kind words without actions are meaningless. For example, what good our children or spouses get if all what we have to offer them is to say “I love you?” Words without actions mean nothing. On the contrary, it may harm who we love more than do good.

I love Celtics region. Except their love of Beer I and the Irish both share many common things. We both love the green color, Pipers, Celtic songs, and lamb meet. I love their accent, their beautiful greenery landscape and their hot women. Should I start saying “I am a proud Irish?”

Being “proud” is a result of doing or achieving a task. It makes no sense for one to feel proud being tall, white or simply Jordanian. After all, we are all going to be accountable in front of God for what good and bad we did and how we treated other humans not for what passport we have.

Saying that, here are some tips of how one can show his love to his country beyond slogans and raising flags:

  1. Work hard in whatever you do. Whether you are a teacher, physician, postman, banker, or builder do your best.
  2. Treat public places same as you treat your own house.
  3. Treat immigrants well, regardless of where they came from. They chose your beloved country to work, visit, or study for a reason
  4. Like it or not, people living in your country, regardless of their origin, holding the same citizenship as yours are going nowhere deal rationally with it.
  5. Start by yourself and advocate others to ONLY throw trash in garbage bins. I feel embarrassed writing this to grownups but unfortunately it is reality and sometimes reality hurts.
  6. Respect your fellow countrymen and countrywomen.
  7. Beside medical doctors, teachers and policemen are the most two important jobs in any nation. A nation that has no respect to either is doomed to never be a safe place.
  8. Jordan is the only Arab country that when the king addresses his people he says “Jordanians from all roots and origins.” Let us honor such noble slogan
  9. Build a better future for your children by teaching them to love others. The consequences of such noble thing can be as big as preventing a war
  10. Jordan is the land of prophets. “A multitude of prophets have lived, died and been buried in the sacred Jordanian earth, other have passed through its lands, leaving thereafter their blessed traces. Jordan contains within its heart the graves and resting places of many of God’s elite and holy men.” The prophets loved their people more than they laved the land. Let us show respect to our prophets and this sacred land by behaving our best and follow their footsteps.

Let us work hard to be proud of how we will transform Jordan to a cleaner, safer, more educated, culturally open and more advanced country.

2 thoughts on “I am a proud something

    1. Thank you Susanne!
      I will try to find time to translate this into Arabic so more Jordanians can read it. I would like to hear their thoughts about it.

Comments are closed.